If a file is no longer required, it can be deleted:
- Select the file.
- Press the Applications key (or Shift + F10), arrow down to Delete and press Enter. Alternatively, press the Delete Button or Control + D.
- A message will appear asking if you are sure that you want to delete this file. Press Y for Yes.
The Recycle Bin
When a file is deleted, it is not completely removed from the computer. It has been placed in an area called the Recycle Bin.
To access the Recycle Bin:
- Press Windows + D for the desktop.
- Press R until you get to the Recycle Bin and press Enter.
In the Recycle Bin, the deleted files can be deleted permanently, or restored to their old location.
Once you are in the Recycle Bin, use the Arrow keys to select a file and use the Applications key to get the options to Restore, Cut or Delete the file.
- Restore will return the file to its original location.
- Cut will remove the file from the Recycle Bin, ready to be pasted to a different location on the computer.
- Delete will delete the file from the Recycle Bin. When deleting a file from the computer, a message will appear asking for confirmation.
Emptying the Recycle Bin
To clear out the Recycle Bin completely:
- Open the Recycle Bin.
- Ensure no file is selected by pressing Control + Spacebar.
- Press Alt + F for the File menu.
- Press Enter on Empty Recycle Bin.
- A message will appear asking if you are sure that you want to delete all the files permanently. Press Y for Yes.